I have searched for you in beds, behind doors, and in the bottom of bottles

I used to walk barefoot across your soul and slip cold fingers in your warmth
I used to be all you ever looked at
Looked for
I remember the first time you shyly sat beside me
But the emptiness is all that remains today
Like a sharp pain in the side
The subtle traces of my words cannot be found anymore
You have made your bed in someone else’s softness
Convinced I had none
Callous and arrogant I took your admiration and destroyed it bitterly
Piece by piece
Because I saw the worship in your gaze
And knew I didn’t deserve it
But now I stand
Tight grip on my own shadow
My eyes burn as I watch
Her
Who you left me for
I take my shaking hands and take someone else apart
A stranger with a smile
Someone who doesn’t know me like you do
And never will

I still know your name better than my own
I still sleep in sheets that breathe for you every night
I still miss your adoration
I still keep a seat beside me open
Knowing you won’t come
But its there all the same

 



5 responses to “I have searched for you in beds, behind doors, and in the bottom of bottles”

  1. i really and truly love your writing. someone will earn your love one day and that someone will have a person that is very special to have you. i know if it was me, i would never ever let you go and do whatever it took to keep you alive

Leave a comment