You have to stop looking at me

you are right
I have no self control

and it shows

I collapse into
all the attention you
have given me
lately

I bask in all the banter
I wrap every nonsense conversation
around myself

I know it can’t last

but I will soak up all that you
deign to give me

we could never be
anything
real
we will never
carve initials into trees

but I can smile
and attempt to make you laugh

I can try
to outwit you
with words

this has turned into
(hopefully)
the least damaging
seduction

least potent
flirtation

let’s just agree
to be a little more
than friendly
for a bit

until we both
acknowledge
the reality that would never
allow us
any peace
or ability to be
actual lovers

I will lose myself
in this
just a little
for now

I will not think about
the future

and all the men
that would be
a better match for me

and all the girls
who could
love you
more innocently

I will look at you
until you stop
looking at me

I will not touch

but I will dream about it

and if I knew you
in another lifetime

maybe
I would
be completely in love

maybe I would
let you
take me apart
in dark rooms

maybe I would
pledge my everlasting devotion
to your skin

over
and
over
again


Leave a comment