When the silence is a clear message

you refuse to read

it’s knowing but not believing

it’s I’m in love with you
and I would laugh
at the ridiculousness
if I wasn’t so sad

why do we do this to each other
this push and pull

someone could lay down at my feet
and I would still
look at you
for affection that you will never give

why are we hard wired
to love
the ones
who don’t want us

a very great joke
if it wasn’t so painful
to watch

I can feel myself
become less
and I hate it

it stings and it burns
and it makes me want to
bite something

how do some girls
collect men in their pockets
each name pleading
hanging on her breath

I can’t seem to make
anyone fall in love with me

my kindness
doesn’t attract
my target

it repulses him

but I am unable to stop

I’m the one in the movie
who loses

who doesn’t take anyone home

I used to
take anyone home

but now
I only want you

and no other

I have set myself up for disaster

I cannot leave this path
I have created
out of desperation
and longing

I cannot forget
the feeling
in my stomach
when I know
you are near

I cannot stop
I can’t control the way
my mind concentrates
on every word you say

this love has torn me down
ripped me open

you feed on my insides
without blinking

without apologies


Leave a comment